Hello?

It’s me. I guess this is the beginning of my double degree and four and a half years at UOW. 

I’m Lily by the way, a Wollongong native and documentary addict.

The latter of the above awkward introductory statement is part of the bigger reason why I am here. I’m passionate about people and ideas, whether it be education, human rights or ‘dance moms.’ From ideas themselves stems my passion for communicating them.

On Sunday I watched an oscar awarded film, ’spotlight.’ And on a day where I was confused about my life, my choices and where I was heading, the movie worked to clear my brain and reinforced in me why I wanted to be here, studying Communication and Media as an aspiring journalist.

For those who don’t know, the film, which is based on a true story, follows journalists from The Globe, a newspaper in Boston investigating and uncovering the extensive and systematic abuse of children within the Catholic church. This work helped to uncover 1000 victims of abuse within the Boston area and the 249 Priests responsible for abusing them.

The journalists involved received Pulitzer prize nominations for their efforts.

Anyway, the movie instilled in me the essence of what they were working toward. Change. Ideas can and do promote change.

Whether it be on a ‘smaller’ scale in giving the victims recognition of the abuse they endured, or changing the public perception of a revered institution that has been standing for 2000 years. Communication is and promotes change, and that is why I’m here.

Introductions have never been my strong point.

Leave a Reply

